home | Main Menu | About Database | Developers | Other Projects
Name: . Status: Registered user. License expires: NEVER. [Log off] Last Modified: 10/19/2017
Register!
ATTENTION! New free registration system was implemented.
If you are not registered user you can use Demo-version mode only. This mode provides limited information on GaAs system only. To view all information you must Register. If you are a registered user you must login to get access to all information. If you forgot password we will send it to you.
Last Modified: 10/19/2017

English

О ширине запрещенной зоны твердых тел (база данных "Bandgap")


Введение

Понятие запрещенной зоны Eg (или энергетической щели в электронном спектре ΔE) кристалла возникло в физике твердого тела в процессе объяснения различий физических свойств металлов и диэлектриков в рамках квантовой теории [1]. Согласно представлениям квантовой теории при образовании кристалла из отдельных атомов вследствие уменьшения межатомных расстояний и действия принципа Паули происходит размытие дискретных электронных уровней атомов в квазинепрерывные разрешенные зоны (полосы), имеющие определенную протяженность по шкале энергий. Разрешенные зоны кристалла разделяются запрещенными зонами, плотность электронных состояний в которых равна нулю [1-6].

Электроны заполняют только разрешенные зоны. В запрещенных зонах идеального кристалла электроны располагаться не могут [2,3]. При этом число конечных электронных состояний в разрешенных зонах кристалла точно соответствует числу исходных состояний в образующих его атомах [4]. Для характеристики заполнения электронных зон вводят понятие энергии (уровня) Ферми EF, отделяющей на шкале энергий заполненные электронные состояния кристалла от свободных при нулевой абсолютной температуре (Т = 0 К).

Соответственно в зависимости от положения уровня Ферми EF на шкале энергий разрешенные зоны кристалла могут заполняться электронами полностью, частично, либо оставаться незаполненными. Верхняя из заполненных электронами зон называется валентной зоной, нижняя из незаполненных - зоной проводимости [3].

Расположение уровня Ферми EF относительно краев указанных зон определяет электронную природу и физические свойства кристалла. Действительно, валентные электроны кристалла, находящиеся в заполненных зонах, являются связанными и не участвуют в проводимости. Электроны могут стать свободными и участвовать в электронной проводимости только в том случае, если они находятся в незаполненной зоне [4]. Соответственно вещества, в которых валентная зона заполнена частично, либо зона проводимости и валентная зоны перекрываются, являются металлами (электроны при этом дополнительно не должны быть локализованы). Вещества, в которых при нулевой абсолютной температуре (Т = 0 К) валентная зона и зона проводимости не перекрываются, являются полупроводниками или диэлектриками [3,4].

Динамические характеристики электронов в зоне проводимости определяются зависимостями их энергии E от квазиимпульса p=(h/2π)k (здесь k - волновой вектор). Обычно дисперсионные соотношения E=f(p) вблизи краев зон описываются квадратичными зависи-мостями:

(здесь h- постоянная Планка, ki - пространственные компоненты волнового вектора, m - эффективная масса носителей тока), а вдали от экстремумов приобретают более сложный вид [5,6]. Общая картина зонной структуры кристалла в координатах E-k представляет собой набор дисперсионных кривых, энергетические зазоры между которыми меняются по абсолютной величине от точки к точке в пространстве квазиимпульса [6]. Пространственная периодичность кристалла определяет периодичность пространства квазиимпульса (скоростей) электронов, что позволяет выделить в обратном пространстве элементарную ячейку, называемую зоной Бриллюена. Форма зоны Бриллюена определяется симметрией кристалла, при этом энергетические экстремумы на дисперсионных кривых достигаются обычно в симметричных точках зоны Бриллюена (L, X, Δ, Γ и других).

Запрещенная зона Eg и химическая связь в твердых телах

Природу химической связи в материале в значительной степени определяет минимальный энергетический зазор между абсолютным максимумом валентной зоны и абсолютным минимумом зоны проводимости, который называют фундаментальной запрещенной зоной, или просто запрещенной зоной кристалла Eg [1,5]. В зависимости от того, располагаются ли экстремумы зоны проводимости и валентной зоны в одних и тех же точках, либо разнесены в пространстве квазиимпульса, запрещенная зона Eg называется прямой или непрямой [4,5].

Полупроводники и диэлектрики различаются величиной Eg. Условно вещества с Eg > 2-3 eV (1 eV= 1.6021*10-12 Эрг = 1.6021*10-19 Дж) относят к классу диэлектриков, вещества с Eg < 2-3 eV - к классу полупроводников. (1.5 eV < Eg < 2-3 eV - к классу широкозонных полупроводников, Eg < 0.1- 0.2 eV - к классу узкозонных полупроводников), вещества с Eg ≈ 0 - к классу бесщелевых полупроводников, вещества с Eg ≤ 0 (небольшое перекрытие зон) - к классу полуметаллов. К полуметаллам относятся также сильнолегированные полупроводники с металлическим характером проводимости, уровень Ферми в которых расположен глубоко в зонах проводимости, либо в валентной зоне [5,7].

Понятие Eg может быть распространено также на разупорядоченные и сильно дефектные фазы, в том числе на аморфные тела (стекла) [8,9], а также жидкости [10], где роль Eg играет квазищель Eg*. Последняя представляет собой энергетический зазор в электронном спектре, вблизи краев которого, а также и в его глубине, могут присутствовать как локализованные, так и распространенные электронные состояния.

При переходе к газообразным диэлектрическим фазам понятие Eg теряет смысл (по крайней мере, при давлениях, отличных от сверхвысоких), трансформируясь в расстояние между занятыми и свободными уровнями энергии электронов в атомах или молекулах.

Таким образом, Eg является фундаментальным параметром конденсированных фаз, который характеризует природу химической связи в материале.

Eg материалов и ее связь с другими параметрами вещества

Из зонной теории следует, что величина Eg твердых тел определяется химическим составом отклонением от стехиометрии и агрегатным состоянием соединения, кристаллической и дефектной структурой образца. Величина Eg зависит от температуры, давления, электрических, магнитных, гравитационных полей и других внешних параметров [1-11]. Для описания указанных зависимостей обычно используют линейные коэффициенты (например, температурный - αT = δEg/dT и барический - αP = δEg/dP, здесь T и P - абсолютная температура и гидростатическое давление), в ряде случаев (например, при фазовых переходах) могут потребоваться коэффициенты более высокого порядка. При изменении состава, отклонения от стехиометрии (фазы переменного состава), а также ряда внешних параметров (температуры, давления и др.) в кристаллах могут наблюдаться как структурные, так и чисто электронные фазовые переходы типа полупроводник-диэлектрик, либо полупроводник-металл, связанные с изменением Eg. [12]. Изменение Eg при фазовых переходах описывается соотношением:

(здесь Cv - теплоемкость при постоянном объеме), соответственно Eg подобно Cv испытывает скачки при фазовых переходах I рода и точки перегиба для фазовых переходов II рода [17].

По величине Eg можно судить о типе химической связи, доминирующей в соединении, устойчивости соединения в определенном интервале изменений состава и внешних параметров, типе электронной проводимости в образцах, склонности материала к ионной проводимости, а также основных термодинамических характеристиках соединения (энтальпии образования HF, энтропии ΔSm и температуры плавления Tm и других) [13].

Методы определения ширины запрещенной зоны Eg

В настоящее время экспериментальные и теоретические методы исследования зонной структуры твердых тел охватывают интервал энергий до ~25 eV [16]. Для теоретических расчетов зонной структуры используют методы квантовой теории (линейной комбинации атомных орбиталей, ортогонализированных плоских волн, псевдопотенциала и др.). Точность теоретических расчетов Eg обычно не превышает ~0.5 eV. Последняя, однако, может быть повышена путем использования в теоретических расчетах опорных экспериментальных точек [16]. Сейчас для многих твердых тел достигнуто хорошее качественное понимание зонной картины в довольно большом интервале энергий, а в ряде случаев и полуколичественное знание зонных структур в интервале 10- 20 eV, где точность может достигать 0.5- 1.0 eV, то есть 5- 10 % [16]. В то же время, теоретические расчеты зонной структуры твердых тел все еще слишком грубы, чтобы однозначно интерпретировать, например, спектры электроотражения (экспериментальное разрешение спектральных пиков превышает ~0.01-0.001 eV) или предсказать величины зазоров между экстремумами валентной зоны и зоны проводимости, где требуется точность более ~0.1 eV [16]. Поэтому для достоверного определения Eg используют экспериментальные методы исследований, точность которых достигает ~0.1 eV (иногда до ~0.01 eV) [15,16].

Экспериментально величина Eg определяется из анализа различных физических эффектов, связанных с переходами электронов из зоны проводимости в валентную зону под действием термической активации (Egterm), либо квантов света (Egopt). Обычно Egterm определяют по температурному ходу электросопротивления и/или коэффициента Холла R в области собственной проводимости, а Egopt - из края полосы поглощения и длинноволновой границы фотопроводимости (Photo). Величину Eg можно оценить также из измерений магнитной восприимчивости, теплопроводности (биполярная компонента), опытов по туннелированию при низкой температуре и т.п. [15]. Существуют также некоторые эмпирические соотношения для качественной оценки ширины запрещенной зоны Eg материалов, например:

(здесь NX, M и AX, M - число и атомные номера валентных электронов аниона и катиона, С = 43 - постоянная), имеющие вспомогательный характер [14]. Применяется также оценка Eg методом экстраполяции (обычно линейной или квадратичной) в гомологических рядах известных соединений, либо фаз переменного состава [17].

Наиболее часто Eg определяют экспериментально по температурному ходу электросопротивления:

здесь e - заряд электрона, μ - подвижность электронов, в области собственной проводимости кристалла, когда концентрация носителей тока в зоне проводимости возрастает с температурой в результате термической активации по экспоненциальному закону:

здесь С- константа, зависящая от параметров зон проводимости и валентной, ko - постоянная Больцмана, T - абсолютная температура, Ea = (Eg/2) - энергия активации (коэффициент 1/2 показывает, что уровень Ферми должен быть расположен посередине запрещенной зоны). Метод требует учета температурной зависимости подвижности электронов μ.

Величину Eg определяют также путем измерения зависимости коэффициента Холла от температуры в области собственной проводимости по формуле [15]:

где R- коэффициент Холла, T- абсолютная температура.

Основные ошибки определения Eg указанными методами связаны c: 1) недостижением области собственной проводимости, влиянием активации примесных уровней и вкладом примесной проводимости; 2) неучетом температурной зависимости подвижности μ в формуле (3); 3) недостаточной протяженностью использованного интервала температур ΔT; 4) изменением химического состава образцов и протяженности области гомогенности соединений при высокой температуре и другими факторами [4,14,15].

Определение Eg из края собственного поглощения света полупроводником и фотопроводимости основано на возбуждении валентного электрона в зону проводимости за счет поглощаемой энергии фотона. Возможны прямые (вертикальные) оптические переходы (k2 = k1 + g, или k2 ~ k1, здесь k1 и k2 - волновой вектор электрона в конечном и исходном состоянии, g - волновой вектор фонона) и непрямые (невертикальные) оптические переходы с участием фононов ((k2 ~ k1+ Kph, здесь Kph - импульс фонона). Край собственного поглощения определяется при прямых и непрямых переходах соответственно соотношениями:

здесь ω* - граничная частота поглощения фотонов, ωphonon - частота поглощаемого (+) и испускаемого (-) фонона, Egopt и Egterm - оптическая и термическая ширина запрещенной зоны. Из выражений (6) и (7) следует, что величина Egopt = Egterm для случая прямых вертикальных оптических переходов, в случае непрямых оптических переходов величина Egopt может быть как меньше (случай поглощения фонона), так и больше (случай испускания фонона) минимального расстояния между валентной зоной и зоной проводимости (Egterm = Eg), причем измеренные значения Egopt могут существенно зависеть от кристаллографического направления в образце [5]. Обычно Egopt = Egterm в ковалентных кристаллах, Egopt > Egterm в ионных кристаллах, Egopt < Egterm в случае экситонного поглощения света (образования связанных электрона и дырки). Экситонная ширина запрещенной зоны рассчитывается из соотношения:

где ΔEX - энергия связи экситона (eV)), в отдельных случаях измеренные значения Egopt и Egterm могут различаться в несколько раз [14]. Указанные соотношения (6) и (7) верны для случая нахождения уровня Ферми в запрещенной зоне кристалла. В сильно легированных полупроводниках р-типа (полуметаллах) возбуждение электронов в зону проводимости происходит с уровня Ферми, расположенного в валентной зоне соединения, при этом величина Egopt. дополнительно увеличится до Egopt ~ Egterm + EF.

Заключение

Таким образом, величина Egterm (в дальнейшем именуемая просто Eg - ширина запрещенной зоны) представляет собой не зависящую от кристаллографического направления истинную, или фундаментальную ширину запрещенной зоны кристалла, которая ответственна за все физические и физико-химические процессы, связанные с термической активацией носителей тока в образцах. В то же время, величина Egopt хотя и связана с Egterm, однако имеет несколько меньшую общность и описывает оптические переходы электронов в кристаллах при определенной условиях эксперимента (кристаллографического направления, частоты и поляризации оптических фононов т.п.). Отсюда следует, что о достоверном знании величины Eg можно говорить только для всесторонне исследованных материалов.

Все указанные выше соображения учитывались при составлении настоящей базы данных, охватывающей значения ширины запрещенной зоны Eg основных неорганических веществ. Специально отмечены приводимые оригинальными авторами значения Eg, полученные из оптических, термических и электрофизических измерений. Приведены сопутствующие данные по химическому и фазовому составу материалов, типу кристаллической решетки (система, структурный тип, пространственная группа), указана ориентации образцов и температура измерений. Все приведенные данные соответствуют нормальному атмосферному давлению, а также отсутствию заметных электрических и магнитных полей.

Использованы следующие обозначения:

  • ΔE, Eg - ширина запрещенной зоны (bandgap);
  • Optical - величина определена из оптических данных;
  • Thermal - величина определена по термической активации проводимости;
  • Electrical - величина определена из электрофизических измерений;
  • Photo. - величина определения из фотопроводимости;
  • Exciton - экситонный;
  • Calculation - расчет;
  • Estimation - оценка;
  • Theoretical - теоретическая оценка;
  • h.t. - высокотемпературный;
  • RT - комнатнотемпературный;
  • l.t. - низкотемпературный;
  • KI, KII, KIII - различные полиморфные модификации;
  • (.) X, (.) Γ - различные точки зоны Бриллюена;
  • Direct - прямой переход;
  • Indirect - непрямой переход;
  • (//a, b, c), (E//a, b, c) или (A, B, C) - вектор электрического поля поляризованной световой волны параллелен кристаллографическим осям a, b, c образца;
  • (|− a, b, c), or (E |− a, b, c) - вектор электрического поля поляризованной световой волны параллелен кристаллографическим осям a, b, c образца соответственно.

Литература:

[1] Wilson A.H. The Theory of Metals, Cambridge, 1953.

[2] Peiers R.E. Quantum Theory of Solids, Oxford, 1953.

[3] Ziman J.M. Electrons and Phonons, Oxford, 1960.

[4] Kittel C. Quantum Theory of Solids, New York, 1963.

[5] Blatt F.J. Physics of Electronic Conduction in Solids, New York, 1968.

[6] Harrison W.A. Solid State Theory, New York, 1970.

[7] Lovett D. Semimetals and Narrow Bandgap Semiconductors, London, 1977.

[8] Mott N.F., Davis E.A. Electron Processes in Non-crystalline Materials, Oxford, 1979.

[9] Amorphous Semiconductors, Ed. Brodsky M.H., Berlin, 1979.

[10] Cutler M. Liquid Semiconductors, New York, 1977.

[11] Kao K., Hwang W. Electrical Transport in Solids, Oxford, 1979.

[12] Mott N.F.Metal-Insulator Transitions, London, 1979.

[13] Regel A.R., Glazov B.M. Periodical Law and Physical Properties of Electronic Melts, Moscow, 1978 (in Russian).

[14] Ormont B.F. Introduction to Physical Chemistry and Crystall Chemistry of Semicon-ductors, Moscow, 1973 (in Russian).

[15] Bush G, Vinkler U. Bestimmung der Charakteristischen Grossen Eines Halbleiters, Er-gebnisse der Exakten Naturwissenschaften, Bd.29, 145, 1956.

[16] Tsidilkovskiy I.M. Band Structure of Semiconductors, Moscow, Nauka, 1978 (in Rus-sian).

[17] Fridkin B.M. Ferroelectrics-semiconductors, Moscow, Nauka, 1976 (in Russian).

[18] Bugaev A.A., Zaharchenia B.P., Chudnovskiy F.A. Insulator to Metall Phase Transition and its Applications, Leningrad: Nauka, 1979, 183 pp. (in Russian).

К.ф.-м.н. М.А.Коржуев (ИМЕТ РАН)

English

IMET RAS Databases
API for developers

home | Main Menu | About Database | Developers | Other Projects
Name: . Status: Registered user. License expires: NEVER. [Log off] Last Modified: 7/28/2017
Register!
ATTENTION! New free registration system was implemented.
If you are not registered user you can use Demo-version mode only. This mode provides limited information on GaAs system only. To view all information you must Register. If you are a registered user you must login to get access to all information. If you forgot password we will send it to you.
Last Modified: 7/28/2017

Russian

Database "Bandgap"
The Bandgaps (Forbidden Zones) of Solids (Semiconductors, Dielectrics & Semimetals)


Introduction

The concept of forbidden zone Eg (or an energy gap in electronic spectrum of crystals ΔE) was formed by the solid state physics during the explanation of distinctions between physical properties of metals and insulators (dielectrics) within the framework of quantum physics [1-4]. According to quantum theory the number of final electronic states in a crystal precisely corresponds to the number of initial states in atoms forming it [4]. In addition for quantum system W.Pauli's exclusion principle only 2 electrons with opposite spins may settle down at each energy level. So at the formation of a crystal from separate atoms owing to reduction of inter nuclear distances electronic levels of atoms transforms into quasiunbroken allowed zones (bands) having certain width on energy scale.

The width of allowed zones depends on energy of connection of electrons with a nucleus of atom. The allowed zones of a crystal are separated from each other by forbidden zones, the density of electronic states in which is equal to zero [1-6].

The electrons fill in only the allowed zones, the electrons may not settle down in the forbidden zones of an ideal crystal [2,3]. The concept of E.Fermi energy (level) EF, separating the filled electronic states of a crystal from free ones at zero absolute temperature (T = 0 K), is used for the characteristic of filling of electronic zones by electrons.

Accordingly to position of EF on energy scale the allowed zones of a crystal may be filled by electrons completely, partially, or remain vacant one. The top zone from the all filled zones refers to as valence band, the bottom zone from the all of vacant zones - the conductive one [3].

The arrangement of Fermi level EF concerning the edges of the bands mentioned above determines an electronic nature and physical properties of a crystal. Really, the valence electrons of a crystal, taking place in the fully filled bands, are fixed and do not participate in conductivity. The electrons may become mobile and participate in electronic conductivity only if they are in the partially vacant zone [4]. So substances, in which the valence band is filled partially, or conductive and valence bands are crossed over, are metals (in addition electrons should not be located as in some narrow band semiconductors with strong electron bonding). Substances, in which at zero absolute temperature (T = 0 K) the valence band is filled (or nearly so filled), and a conductive band is empty (or nearly so empty), and the last are not crossed, are semiconductors or dielectrics (insulators) [3,4].

Dynamic characteristics of electrons in bands are determined by dependence of their energy E on impulse p = (h/2π)k (here k is wave vector). Usually dispersal curves E = f(p) near the band edges are described by square-law dependence:

(here h is M.Planck constant, ki are spatial components of a wave vector, m is effective mass of electrons). Such curves get more complex view if they are far from extreme [5,6]. The band structure of a crystal in coordinates E-k represents as a set of dispersal curves, energy gaps between which vary from point to point in impulse space [6]. The spatial periodicity of a crystal determines the periodicity of impulse (speed) space of electrons also. That allows allocation of the elementary cell in impulse space named as Brillouin zone of a crystal. The form of Brillouin zone is determined by symmetry of a crystal, thus energy extreme on dispersal curves are usually located in symmetric points of Brillouin zone (L, X, Δ, Γ and others).

Forbidden zone Eg and chemical bonds in solids

The nature of chemical bonds in solids is determined by the minimal energy gap between an absolute maximum of a valence zone and an absolute minimum of a zone of conductivity which is named as the fundamental forbidden gap, or simply forbidden gap of crystal - Eg [1,5]. Depending on, whether extreme of conductivity and a valence bands locate - in the same points of Brillouin zone, or are separated in impulse space, Eg is referred to as direct or indirect [4,5].

Semiconductors and dielectrics distinguish on Eg size. By convention substances with Eg > 2-3 eV (1 eV = 1.6021*10-12 erg = 1.6021*10-19 J) belong to a class of dielectrics (insulators), substances with Eg < 2-3 eV - to a class of semiconductors (1.5 eV < Eg < 2-3 eV - to a class of wide-bandgap semiconductors, Eg < 0.1-0.2 eV - narrow-bandgap semiconductors). Substances with Eg ≈ 0 belong to a class of zero-bandgap semiconductors, substance with Eg ≤ 0 (small overlapping of zones) - to a class semimetals. High doped semiconductors with metallic character of conductivity, in which EF is located deeply in conductivity, or valence zones, belong to semimetals also [5,7]. One should distinguish the narrow-bandgap semiconductors and the narrow band semiconductors, the last are referred to as when allowed zone range is narrow (< koT) [7].

The concept of Eg may be extended to disordered and strongly defective phases, including on amorphous substances (glasses) [8,9], and also liquids [10], where the role of Eg plays pseudo gap Eg*. The last represents an energy gap, within which both the located and the widespread electronic states may be present.

The concept of Eg loses their meaning for gaseous dielectric phases (at least for no ultrahigh pressure), being transformed into usual energy gaps between the occupied and free energy levels of electrons in atoms or molecules.

Thus, Eg is the basic parameter of the condensed matter, which characterizes a nature of chemical bonds and accordingly determines the chemical, physical-chemical and physical properties of solids.

Eg and other parameters of solids

Eg in solids is defined by a nature of chemical bonds, composition of a compound, its deviation from stoichiometry, aggregative state, crystal and, in some degree, defective structures of a sample. The size of Eg depends also on temperature, pressure, electric, magnetic, gravitational fields and other external parameters [1-11]. As a rule, the linear factors (e.g., temperature αT = δEg/dT and pressure - αP = δEg/dP coefficients, here T and P are absolute temperature and hydrostatic pressure) are used for the description of these dependences. Sometimes (e.g., at phase transitions) factors of higher order may be used. At change of composition, a deviation from stoichiometry (phases of variable composition), and also of some external parameters (temperature, pressure, etc.) structural or electronic phase transitions of semiconductor-dielectric or semiconductor-metal associated with Eg change can be observed [12]. The last can be described by the general ratio:

(here Cv is a thermal capacity at constant volume). Accordingly, Eg curves drops near a phase transitions of first order and have a bent near a phase transitions of second order similar to Cv curves [17].

The type of the chemical bonds of compound, the stability of compounds in the certain interval of changes of composition and external parameters, the type of electronic conductivity, the possibility of ionic conductivity in samples, and also the basic thermodynamic characteristics of bonding in solids (enthalpy of formation HF, entropy ΔSm, melting point Tm, etc.) could be inferred by the value of Eg [13].

The influence of Eg value on electrical and optical properties of samples is most strongly expressed in intrinsic materials (Fermi level EF lies in the forbidden zone). In doped semiconductors EF lies in a valence or in a conductivity zones, so the influence of Eg value on physical properties of crystals weakens and at EF 5-10 koT > Eg becomes practically imperceptible. The last is valid also for conductivity over deep d-bands in the semiconductors, containing transition metals.

Methods of Eg determination

Now experimental and theoretical methods of research of band structure of solids cover an energy up to ~25 eV [16]. The methods of the quantum theory (a linear combination of atomic orbitals, orthogonalised plane waves, pseudo-potential, etc.) are used for theoretical calculations of band structure. The accuracy of theoretical calculations of Eg usually does not exceed ~ 0.5 eV. The accuracy of theoretical calculations, however, may be raised by use in some support experimental points [16]. Now the good qualitative understanding of a band structure in a wide energy interval, and in some cases semi-quantitative knowledge of band structures in an interval 10-20 eV (accuracy may reach 0.5-1.0 eV) for many solids is achieved [16]. At the same time, theoretical calculations of band structure of solids are still too rough in order to interpret unequivocally, for example, spectra of electrical reflection (the experimental resolution of spectral peaks exceeds ≈0.01-0.001 eV) or to predict the gaps between valence and conductive zones where required accuracy is more than ≈0.1 eV [16]. Therefore now reliable determination of Eg is based on the experimental methods which accuracy exceeds ≈0.1 - 0.01 eV [15,16].

Eg value is determined experimentally from the analysis of the various physical effects associated with electron transitions from valence to conductive zones under thermal activation (Egterm), or quantum of light (Egopt). Usually Egterm is obtained from a temperature dependence of electrical resistance ρ and/or Hall factor R for intrinsic conductivity, and Egopt - from band edge of absorption and longwave boundary of photo-conductivity. The Eg value can be estimated also from measurements of a magnetic susceptibility, heat conductivity (bipolar component), some experiments on tunneling at low temperature, etc. [15]. There are also some empirical equations for quality evaluations of width of forbidden zone Eg, for example:

(here NX, M and AX, M are the number of valence electrons and atomic numbers of anions (M) and cations (X), C = 43 - empirical constant), having auxiliary nature [14]. Estimation of Eg by extrapolation (usually linear, or square) in homological series of known compounds as well as phases of variable composition is widely applied also [17].

The most frequently Eg is determined experimentally from the temperature dependence of electrical resistance:

(here e is the charge of an electron, μ is an electronic mobility in the region of intrinsic conductivity, when concentration of carriers in a conductive zone grows with temperature due to thermal activation according to exponential law:

here C is a constant depending on parameters of conductive and valence zones, ko - L.Boltzmann constant, T - absolute temperature, Ea = (Eg/2) is an energy of activation (the factor 1/2 shows that Fermi level should be located in the middle of the forbidden gap). The method gives Eg value appropriate 0 K, and demands the account of temperature dependence of electronic mobility μ. In the case of semiconductors with low electronic mobility (in particular, the semiconductors having narrow on width d-zones) the activation energy Ea, determined from temperature dependence of electrical resistance, does not determine the real Eg value in a material.

The Eg value can be determined also by measurement of dependence of Hall factor [15] in intrinsic conductivity region using a formula:

here R is Hall factor, T is absolute temperature.

The frequent mistakes of Eg determination by the specified methods are due to: 1) unattainability of the region of extrinsic conductivity, influence of impurity levels activation and impurity contribution to conductivity; 2) failure to take into account the temperature dependence of mobility μ in the formula (3); 3) insufficient extent for the interval of temperatures ΔT used; 4) change of a chemical compound composition and homogeneity range at high temperature and so on [4,14,15].

The determination of Eg from edge of light absorption and from photo-conductivity of semiconductor is based on excitation of a valence electron into conductive zone due to absorbed energy of a photon. Direct (vertical) optical transitions (k2 = k1 + g, or k2 ~ k1, here k1 and k2 are wave vectors of an electron in a final and initial states, g is a phonon wave vector) and indirect (not vertical) optical transitions with phonon participation (k2 ~ k1+ Kph, here Kph is a phonon impulse) are possible. The edge of own absorption is determined for direct and indirect transitions accordingly by relations:

here ω* is a boundary frequency of absorption of photons, ωphonon is the frequency of absorbed (+) and emitted (-) phonons, Egopt and Egterm are optical and thermal widths of the forbidden zone. The equality Egopt = Egterm for direct vertical optical transitions follows from the expressions (6) and (7). In the case of indirect optical transitions Egopt may be as less (a case of phonon absorption) so more (a case of phonon emission) than the minimal distance between a valence and conductive zones (Egopt ≠ Egterm = Eg). In addition measured values of Egopt may essentially depend on crystallo-graphic directions in a sample [5]. Usually Egopt = Egterm in covalent crystals, Egopt > Egterm in ionic crystals, Egopt < Egopt for exciton absorption of light (formation of bonded electron and hole pares under light radiation). The exciton bandgap can be calculated from the equation:

where ΔEX is an energy of exciton bonding (eV). Equations (6) and (7) are valid when Fermi level lies in the forbidden zone of a crystal. In high doped semiconductors of р-type (semimetals) the electron excitation into a conductive zone starts from Fermi level, being deep in a valence zone, thus the obtained Egopt value will increase up to Egopt ~ Egterm + EF. Optical methods of Eg determination in solids have the greatest accuracy (up to 0.001-0.0001 eV and more) and a wide range (up to several eV)] but sometime demand difficult interpretation of the peaks received [3,4]. In particular, some optical transitions may be forbid by quantum rules, following from symmetry of a crystal [4]. In result the observed optical peaks may correspond to tran-sitions of electrons not in extreme, but in others, distinct from them, points of Brillouin zone. The appropriate energy gap refer to as pseudo forbidden zones (direct, or indirect), which on occasion may differ from true Eg in some times [14]. The essential moment at the analysis of optical spectra is also to define the type of optical transition observed (direct or indirect). In particular, because of wrong interpretation of direct and indirect transitions some semimetals for a long time accepted for narrow bandgap semiconductors (Bi, Sb and other) [7,14].

Conclusion

Thus, the Egterm value (further called simply Eg) represents the true fundamental width of the forbidden zone of a crystal, undependent from crystallographic directions, that is responsible for all physical and physical-chemical processes connected with thermal activation of carriers in samples. At the same time, Egopt value though is connected with Egterm but has slightly smaller generality. Namely Egopt describes optical transitions of electrons in crystals at certain conditions of experiment (crystallographic directions, frequencies and polarization of optical phonons, type of optical transitions (direct, indirect) etc.). From here it follows, that it is possible to speak about reliable knowledge of Eg value only in case of comprehensive investigation of materials.

All reasons mentioned above were taken into account at design of the present Database covering values of width of forbidden zone Eg of the major classes of inorganic compounds. Database "Bandgap" contains information from basic Russian and foreign handbooks and papers. The methods of Eg determination and the appropriate temperature ranges are indicated. The data on chemical and phase composition of materials, type of a crystal lattice (system, structural type, space group), orientations of samples at optical measurements are given in addition. All given data correspond to mechanically free samples, normal atmospheric pressure and gravitation, absence of detectable external electric and magnetic fields.

Designations:

  • ΔE - width of a forbidden zone (bandgap);
  • Optical - the bandgap is determined from optical data;
  • Thermal - the bandgap is determined on thermal activation of conductivity;
  • Electrical - the bandgap is determined from electrical measurements;
  • Photo. - the bandgap is determined from photoconductivity;
  • Exciton - the bandgap is determined from optic exciton analysis;
  • Theoretical - a theoretical estimation;
  • h.t. - high temperature;
  • RT - room temperature;
  • l.t. - low temperature;
  • KI, KII, KIII - various polymorphic modifications;
  • (.) X, (.) Γ - various points of Brillouin zone;
  • (//a, b, c), (E//a, b, c) or (A, B, C) - the vector of an electric field of the polarized light wave is parallel to crystallographic axes a, b, c, accordingly;
  • (|− a, b, c), or (E |− a, b, c) - the vector of an electric field of the polarized light wave is orthogonal to crystallographic axes a, b, c, accordingly.

Literature:

[1] Wilson A.H. The Theory of Metals, Cambridge, 1953.

[2] Peiers R.E. Quantum Theory of Solids, Oxford, 1953.

[3] Ziman J.M. Electrons and Phonons, Oxford, 1960.

[4] Kittel C. Quantum Theory of Solids, New York, 1963.

[5] Blatt F.J. Physics of Electronic Conduction in Solids, New York, 1968.

[6] Harrison W.A. Solid State Theory, New York, 1970.

[7] Lovett D. Semimetals and Narrow Bandgap Semiconductors, London, 1977.

[8] Mott N.F., Davis E.A. Electron Processes in Non-crystalline Materials, Oxford, 1979.

[9] Amorphous Semiconductors, Ed. Brodsky M.H., Berlin, 1979.

[10] Cutler M. Liquid Semiconductors, New York, 1977.

[11] Kao K., Hwang W. Electrical Transport in Solids, Oxford, 1979.

[12] Mott N.F.Metal-Insulator Transitions, London, 1979.

[13] Regel A.R., Glazov B.M. Periodical Law and Physical Properties of Electronic Melts, Moscow, 1978 (in Russian).

[14] Ormont B.F. Introduction to Physical Chemistry and Crystall Chemistry of Semiconductors, Moscow, 1973 (in Russian).

[15] Bush G, Vinkler U. Bestimmung der Charakteristischen Grossen Eines Halbleiters, Ergebnisse der Exakten Naturwissenschaften, Bd.29, 145, 1956.

[16] Tsidilkovskiy I.M. Band Structure of Semiconductors, Moscow, Nauka, 1978 (in Russian).

[17] Fridkin B.M. Ferroelectrics-semiconductors, Moscow, Nauka, 1976 (in Russian).

[18] Bugaev A.A., Zaharchenia B.P., Chudnovskiy F.A. Insulator to Metall Phase Transition and its Applications, Leningrad: Nauka, 1979, 183 pp. (in Russian).

Dr. Mikhail A.Korzhuev

Russian

IMET RAS Databases
API for developers